Skip Navigation
This table is used for column layout.

Historical Commission
Contact TypeContact Information
David Wright
525 Washington Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
Board Members:
David Wright
Lawrence McNally
Vice Chairman
Peter Fergusson
Tad Heuer
Dwight Lueth
Helen Robertson
Kathryn Venne
WHC Advisory Members:
Maureen Cary
Terry Catchpole
Joshua Dorin
Joel Slocum
Arvid von Taube

The Wellesley Historical Commission, whose seven members are town residents appointed by the Board of Selectmen, is the primary advocate for the protection of the Town's historic assets.

WHC Mission Statement
Its mission is the preservation and protection of the tangible evidence of the architectural, aesthetic, cultural, economic, political and social history of Wellesley.  In fulfilling this mission, the Commission does the following:

-  educates the community on the value of historic preservation with articles and letters to the     editor and in the local press;
-  encourages local ordinances, bylaws or public action that preserve historic properties both     public and private
-  addresses major development and growth issues, such as rampant residential demolitions,    and the renovation, restoration, adaptive reuse and re-design of historic places with a sense    of their valued past.

The Commission interacts and coordinates its work with other Town boards and committees such as the Community Preservation Committee, the Planning Board, the Wellesley Housing Development Corporation, and the Design Review Board, as well as with the Wellesley Historical Society and state agencies such as the Massachusetts Historical Commission.

Wellesley Town Hall  525 Washington St., Wellesley, MA 02482
Phone: (781) 431-1019
Home    Meeting Calendar    Contact Us    Policies    Virtual Towns & Schools Website